Processed Foods VS Make It Yourself

A little about myself, I am a stay at home mom to my daughter Annabelle and I also am a support fitness and nutrition coach (support). I love my life family and my job, I couldn’t ask for anything more!

A BIG thing in my families life is buying and consuming foods that are processed as minimally as possible! I was doing some meal planning tonight and my BIL was sitting next to me. I asked hi. “what is anther dinner idea?” You know what he suggested? Hamburger helper….

I will be honest with you, at one point in time I would have thought, perfect! Now…not so much. Why? To much “junk” and unidentified ingredients.

We have two rules when buying foods: 10 ingredients or less (do you know what the unknown ingredients are?) and know what each ingredient is! Do you know what is in your food?

Cons of making your own “hamburger helper”
…it takes an extra 10 minutes
….it is not as convent
….you have to buy multiple ingredients

Pros of making your own “hamburger helper”
…you have CONTROL over what you a putting in your body
….you will not eat unknown ingredients
….no preservatives
…..makes more and freezer well
……cost wise it truly is not more expensive!

Processed food truly is a harmful epidemic causing poor eating habits, poor nutrition and filling
our bodies with toxins causing so many of todays health issues.

*I challenge you to go to the grocery This week and LOOK at the ingredients on everything you buy and shoot for 10 ingredients or less! Can you meal plan it healthier and cheaper? Tell me your results!!

Leave a comment